by Lisa Cyriacks
The GOP swept the national races securing majorities in the both House and Senate. Colorado’s governors race was not called until Wednesday morning after Hickenlooper secured a very slim lead over Bob Beauprez.
US Senator Mark Udall was unseated by his opponent Cory Gardner in heavily funded race. Republicans outspent Democrats by $49.5 million to $46.9 million to secure the seat.
In other statewide races, Republican Wayne Williams won Secretary of State, Republican Walker Stapleton won State Treasurer, and Cynthia Coffman won State Attorney General.
Republicans also won 5 out of 7 US Congressional District seats. Democratic candidates Diane DeGette and Jarod Polis retained there two seats in Districts 1 and 2. In our congressional district incumbent Republican Scott Tipton who won with 58% of the vote.
Saguache County races resulted in three wins for the Democrats and three wins for the Republicans.
Democrat Tim Lovato won County Commissioner District 3 with 1,371 votes to 893 for Ellen Cox. Pete Peterson won with a narrow margin of 97 votes over his Republican opponent Janet Nelson-Cox. (1,182 to 1,085). County Corner Tom Perrin received 1,795 in an uncontested race.
Republican incumbent Carla Gomez won re-election with a nice margin of 1,218 votes over Christina Wilson who received 1,062 votes. Dan Warwick received 1,127 votes for County Sheriff, putting his ahead of his Democratic opponent Tristan Van Zalinge (885 votes) and Unaffiliated candidate Edie Ashley (271 votes).  County Treasurer Connie Trujillo received 1,745 votes in an uncontested race.
Saguache County voters turned down a sales tax increase to help fund the county landfill 1,320-961 and Center voters approved the funds for new water tanks for the town 233-167.